Who Am I?

black-white-light

One morning I woke up, rolled out of bed, shuffled to the kitchen, and made myself some toast. As I started to sit down to eat it, the idea to write something struck me. I grabbed a notebook, a pen, and my toast. Then I sat down and wrote this poem very quickly. It’s just one of those things, I never know when that’s going to happen. I still haven’t found the right photography vessel for this poem either, but I will. For fun, I felt the urge to look up black and white photography to post with this poem. None of these photos are mine, but, I absolutely love them, find them inspirational, and complimentary to my poem. There is something special about the simplicity of black and white photography in contrast to how deeply expressive it can be. And there’s something special about this poem. I love that it leaves everyone with a deep question to answer!

black-and-white-photography-11images

 

Who Am I? 

Hidden behind flesh and bone,

An intricate human mask,

Lies the one who never dies,

The spirit that I am.

 

I am not the many roles I play,

The things I do, the things I say,

I am the unseparated,

From the Truth, the Light, and the Way.

 

Hidden behind my human fears,

I am fearless, I am love,

Hidden behind my human flaws,

I’m a perfect child of God.

 

Hidden, I don’t want to be hidden anymore,

Tear down these walls!

Throw open that door!

Let the divine in me use these eyes to see,

Forever changing the world around me…

 

Free to give love and free to receive,

The ability to see the face of God in every living thing,

Connection to all brothers and sisters through the purpose I am living,

Forgiveness of human errors, consciousness rising…

 

Slowly rising, I am the awareness of breath,

I am the observer of my human thoughts and deeds,

I am the experience of Heaven despite my creations of Hell,

Now who are you, who are you really?

 

-J. Miriam

photos_bw_39

 

4 thoughts on “Who Am I?

Leave a comment